• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

Do you hide your drug use from loved ones?

TimKT9

Bluelighter
I have been using drugs of all kinds for about 8 years now, mainly opiates and benzos. I am 25. When i was 19 i started using opiates almost everyday. In the past year i have substantially decreased my use, mainly using xanax or klonopin 2-3 times a week, and opiates probably once or twice every 2 weeks. My girlfriend of 3 years has never used drugs like this, only marijuana. She knows about my past, but when we started dating i told her i was completely clean (which was a lie obv). She has caught me asking people for drugs a few times in the past year. I try telling her the truth that it is just an occasional thing, but she does not understand or believe me, as she has never been addicted to anything. Just wondering how other people deal with discussing or hiding their drug use with their girlfriends/boyfriends and family

When I was a teenager I was smoking weed and trying to hide it from my parents. From age 16-very recently I hid my weed smoking from my parents more as a respect thing then anything. When I was in high school I hid all aspects of my usage of anything, other then the unavoidable hang overs after days it made sense (new years day etc) they never really pushed the issue. It wasnt until my former g/f and i were injecting heroin and i owed my dealer 200 dollars and my payroll check got stolen from the bank as i owed the bank money, they didnt steal it as much as froze my account, so i had to confess.

Confessing to using IV heroin to my parents was probably the hardest thing i have ever done. Having an angry dealer on the phone telling me i better come up with the money because i quite literally promised i would have it on payday. I was pacing back and forward in my room walking to the hallway and turning around for like an hour until i was like "fuck it i can get some extra money for dope by adding 50 to the amount" and did that.