View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Psychedelics with history of depression

GregSmith20

Greenlighter
I was diagnosed with dysthymia at around 13 years old - though it didn't seem that bad then. They just thought I seemed off. I stopped meds right before college and managed for awhile.
My depression did get worse in college though particularly after a personal "tragedy" of sorts.

Has anybody used psychedelics with a clinical diagnosis of depression successfully?

Hey there, i would say taking any kind of psychedelic wouldnt be a good idea while suffering from depression, i have had some bad experiences and it took me a while to get back to normal afterwards i wouldnt recommend it, however maybe you should look into ayahuasca as it can have wonderful healing effects and sometimes completely cure depression.

i think your mood at the time of the experience is more important than your average mood. just make sure to pay attention to set and setting. ime, as cliché as it sounds, a good trip really deeply helps with depression. i have had a few trips that changed my perspective on a few things for good.

i have been diagnosed with major depressive disorder and have had amazing trips. all the bad trips that i had were due to unfortunate events that happened during the trip and would've fucked up anyone's trip, depressive or not.

just don't be reckless

I tried LSA a few months ago and had symptoms that felt like early signs of epilepsy. Though I have not had any seizures.

I was diagnosed with dysthymia at around 13 years old - though it didn't seem that bad then. They just thought I seemed off. I stopped meds right before college and managed for awhile.
My depression did get worse in college though particularly after a personal "tragedy" of sorts.

Has anybody used psychedelics with a clinical diagnosis of depression successfully?