• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

High paying entry level jobs.

Meow1243

Bluelighter
I'm a 20 year old female with no college education/degrees. I currently work as a preschool teacher I make $9 an hour working 40 hours a week. I can make more in my field of work if I obtain my CDA (child development associate) however I don't want to continue working in my current field. Don't get me wrong I love kids but taking care of 10 two year olds by myself is just not fun lol.

I was thinking of becoming a waitress as I've heard that the tips can be quite lucrative if you're in the right restaurant. If any servers out there could tell me how much they make on a monthly basis that would be great. Any other suggestions as far as career choices would also be great, thanks.

^my friend makes about 12 for waitressing and plus tips so about 14-15 per hour.

As far as career choices, how about massage therapy? I read an article about in demand high paying jobs with little to no requirements of a degree and massage therapy is a growing field. As soon as I find the link I can post it here.

Have you thought about looking into a staffing agency?

They'll put you through the ringer of aptitude and skills testing and match that with employers who are seeking workers. There are pros and cons to this, though. Usually it's a temporary position when you start out, but most placements have a temp to permanent hire policy. I made a sizable step up from a previous job after looking into an agency, and was placed within the same week.

Plus, if you try out a job that they place you in, and you decide it isn't for you, they'll find you a new one. You can name your wage requirements, your hour preferences, etc and they'll work around that.

It's certainly been a helpful experience for me, anyway, but as always, your mileage may vary.