• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

The 5-HT2B receptor, valvulopathy and the apparent safety of psychedelic drugs

AA357

Bluelighter
Hi,

Recently I posted a thread in PD about my echocardiogram:
http://www.bluelight.org/vb/threads/763801-Echocardiography-of-a-heavy-2C-E-psychedelic-user

I had a transthoracic echocardiogram with doppler ultrasound (very, very thorough). The procedure lasted 20-30 minutes. My heart is strong and healthy and there are no signs of cardiomyopathy or valvulopathy.

I have been using psychedelics very heavily for the past 12 months: mostly 2C-E (about 2.5g), LSD (about 10mg) and DOM (at least 100mg). I trip multiple times per week and I dose heavily.

I do believe that excessive stimulation of 5HT2B receptors inevitably leads to valvulopathy (as evidenced by the high prevalence of valvulopathy among users of fenfluramine, MDA/MDMA and many ergoloids), but psychedelics don't activate this receptor strongly enough for this to be a realistic concern. Psilocin is probably the most abundant and commonly used psychedelic in the world. It is highly selective for 2B; yet there are no documented cases of psilocin-induced valvulopathy in humans. It is worth mentioning that humans have been eating shrooms for over 7,000 years.

I got a few interesting responses.
One poster commented that 2C-E is only a "weak partial agonist" at 2B and therefore a lot less likely to cause valvulopathy than fenfluramine and MD(M)A. If this is the case then why is methysergide - a partial agonist at 2B with an efficacy similar to that of psilocin - associated with valvulopathy (while psilocin isn't)?
This poster also pointed out that the majority of people who used fenfluramine didn't develop valvulopathy and another poster suggested that my heart is just 'remarkably resiliant' and that my findings don't mean anything.