How I reconstructed my brain and regained my life after years of extreme drug abuse

KingBlueTwista

Bluelighter
Hey all. I haven't been around bluelight for a long time! I used to frequent this place a lot. I would say I have good memories, but I actually don't have any memories of it at all. Until about two years ago, I had been doing drugs pretty much every day of my life for about five years, and it completely destroyed my memory, and any semblance of a human being that looked out of these eyes. I am sure some of you are in this painful state now, or are heading there already. It sucks so bad. And the worst part is, when you start the ascent and the rebuilding and the long nights back to sobriety and normality, you feel that you destroyed some part of yourself. That somehow you're a ghost, a pale imitation, a shadow of who you once were. In my particular case I can fairly say that I was completely gone. I had no autobiographical memory, couldn't remember what I did earlier in the day, yesterday, or for any of my life really. I could barely form a thought, except for thoughts about how I had not thoughts and how brain damaged I was. I lived in a constant state of painful apathy, nothing was engaging in the slightest, and the only times I felt anything were when I felt stressed by stuff or felt deeply depressed. I could not engage the world, could barely form coherent sentences. At some point my girlfriend left me because I was getting back into the drugs and becoming more selfish and basically dying on the inside from it all and I was probably horrible to be around. Before this I had tried several times to be sober but it never seemed to stick, maybe a few months here and there but I'd always find myself coming back to the drugs in a moment of boredom or despair. When she left I realised that my addiction to fleeing myself in the form of narcotics had destroyed everything I ever loved; my mind, my relationships, my enjoyment of anything. This gave me a fire, an i