Recruiting Why do you use Bluelight? Discussion thread for initial research...

surrogatekey

Greenlighter
Hi, my name is Rachelle Annechino. I’m a researcher with the Center for Critical Public Health and with PIRE’s Prevention Research Center in Oakland. I would like to invite you to take part in research we are conducting to understand more about the Bluelight community. As part of our study, we are starting this thread to hold an online discussion about reasons for participating on Bluelight. Participation in this thread is totally voluntary.

Although there aren’t any direct benefits to you for participating in this thread, your participation can help researchers to better understand substance use and online community.

If you decide to participate in this thread, we request that your comments follow these guidelines:

• Please don’t participate if you are 17 or younger.
  • Please don’t reveal any personally identifying information, such as your real name.
  • Please keep in mind that the Bluelight User Agreement prohibits content that “harasses, degrades or intimidates an individual or group of individuals.”

Contact information:

Please free free to email me directly at [email protected]. On Twitter and Skype you can reach me @surrogatekey.

You can also contact the study director, Tamar Antin, at 510-883-5749, 1-800-486-0727, or [email protected].

If you have any questions about your rights or treatment as a research participant in this study, please contact the Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation’s Human Subjects Representative, Elysia Oudemans at 1-866-PIRE-ORG ext. 2757.

I like to research different states of mind in the safest most responsible way as possible, therefore I communicate with people who share the same interests in alternative mindstate research.

I also like to know about related law issues, health, availability, etc.

A forum can be the best source of first hand anecdotal information, communication is important.