• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Finding the underlying cause for your use

MONSTA!!

Bluelighter
Hi,

I've been using heroin and various other opiates for about 10 years now, I'm 30 in a few months and I'm starting to really get sick of the merry-go-round.

I've been on Subutex for about 2 years, I've used it for four in total as I had a brief stint where I was completely clean. Despite being on the subs at least once a month I will end up going on a bender, I have a good job and can afford to spend large amounts on heroin. I will usually spend about a week using a gram of heroin and crack injected together a day, then realise I need to stop and spend a further 5 days in mini withdrawal as my body reacclimatises to the subs.

I know I need to address the underlying issue of why I go back to using, but how do I do that? The rational side of my brain doesn't want this, but the carnal side of me always ends up winning when that thought pops into my head.

Does anyone have any advice on discovering the reasons for drug use and remedying the situation?

Thanks
MONSTA!!

1) It feels good.
2) It feels more pleasurable than any pleasure life can offer sober.
3) If you have underlying issues like mental health, or you just feel apathetic toward life, it can make all that seem like it doesn't matter.

I know people love to pick apart the 'root reasons' for drug use, and there are usually some, but mostly it's just like that you get hooked on something that feels awesome and your body just wants more of it.

My personal understanding of my underlying cause is that fact that I am an individual with the disease of addiction and am an addict.

1) It feels good.
2) It feels more pleasurable than any pleasure life can offer sober.
3) If you have underlying issues like mental health, or you just feel apathetic toward life, it can make all that seem like it doesn't matter.