• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

TDS Freaking out over upcoming home detox...

inthetriptank

Bluelighter
Hi guys,

So I have been reading every night on here like I'm studying for finals, trying to get SOME IDEA of what to expect when I start my detox from opiates in 2-3 days...sorry if this info is available somewhere else, but I couldn't find anything too similar to my particular situation. And any wisdom/guidance you could offer would be awesome.

So, I've been an opiate addict, IV, since 2009. For a long time (4 years or so?) I was on methadone (got up to a stable dose of 70 mg), and still went out and used between 2 and 5 times a week. Dumb, I know...well, about 6 months ago I decided I needed to make a change for good, or my life was just going to keep getting more and more desperate and ridiculous...working two jobs just to pay for dope...etc etc. So I started a taper on my 'done. All was good until about 20 mg, and by then I'd made plans to rent out my apt, leave town for awhile, etc...so I couldn't just stop the taper. However, I was getting sick every morning, just feeling like serious shit...so, silly me, I started using on the side...just when "I needed to", but still, the 8 mg I have gotten down to isn't really like 8 mg of 'done and nothing else. Like, yesterday I did 30 mg of morphine so I would be well enough to pack boxes and prepare to move...today I did about 40 mg morphine. Not high doses like I once did, but still, using on top of the methadone isn't good and I know that.

I will leave town with 5 carries of 8 mg each of methadone. On top of that, I've squirrelled away about 20 0.5 mg clonazepam, 15 10-mg diazepam, and 20 lorazepam (God knows why...), plus clonidine, naproxen, and Seroquel.