• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

What combination of psychiatric drugs has worked to improve your lifestyle? Ask me ?s

Geaux Tigers!

Bluelighter
I'm an Associate Professor at a nursing college. I only teach two courses.I teach Nursing 4004 - Mental Health Nursing and Nursing 4005 - Advanced Adult Health Nursing. These are classes that every nursing graduate must complete. Basically, I train my students how to evaluate a patient's mental health and how to provide first line treatment using psychotropics (e.g. midazolam for anxiety, quietipine for a violent patient). I tell them the best way to write a proper referral to a PDOC.

I am a PDOC in a way. APRNs here are allowed to write scripts with a doctor's approval. Some have their own offices where they rely on the patient to correlate care with their own physician which is a pain the ass. I did not want to have to set up an office. So that only left me working under a psychiatrist at a clinic. I don't like the idea of working below somebody; therefore, I gave up 'professional' life in a way and be a nursing school professor. It's not a bad career, I enjoy it.