Published MDMA/Ecstasy Experiences of Adults on Autism Spectrum

Aylish

Greenlighter
My name is Alicia Danforth, and I am a PhD student in clinical psychology at the Institute of Transpersonal Psychology in Palo Alto, California. I currently am collecting confidential survey data and conducting anonymous interviews for my dissertation on the MDMA/Ecstasy experiences of adults on the autism spectrum, including but not limited to Asperger's Syndrome.

If you are an adult on the spectrum (age 21 or older) who either has OR has never tried MDMA/Ecstasy, I invite you to consider participating in this research.

There is general consensus that autism results in challenges with social interaction and communication. MDMA has been shown to promote prosocial feelings, aspects of empathy, and increased self-insight for some individuals. However, no studies which assess the therapeutic potential of MDMA for autism spectrum social skills limitations have been published. The purpose of this exploratory mixed-methods study is to address the gap in research by documenting the range and qualities of subjective MDMA/Ecstasy experiences in autistic adults.

More information on the study and details about how to enroll are available at:

www.facebook.com/DanforthResearch

or

http://www.danforthresearch.com

Contact information for me and for my Committee Chair is available on the Web site if you have any questions.

This is an exciting study indeed. :)

Just wondering; is this for clinically diagnosed Asperger's/autism or is it open to those who have Asperger's type symptoms, but it has not been severe enough to have gone through the clinical system for treatment?

Just wondering; is this for clinically diagnosed Asperger's/autism or is it open to those who have Asperger's type symptoms, but it has not been severe enough to have gone through the clinical system for treatment?