• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Benzo noob: 1mg Xanax, 10mg Valium, or 2mg Ativan?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tee2

Greenlighter
I'm not experienced with benzos and I have a choice between these three. Which would you guys recommend? Ativan is the more expensive one but if it's worth it I might spring for it, otherwise I'll just pick between Xanax and Valium.

Thanks.

The are all supposedly equivalent although i would say valium does nothing for me. Ativan is OK but not as good as xanax. Xanax is the best even though the are all equal potency in the doses you listed. And im speaking in terms of recreational use.

If your talking about anxiety then it depends on your situation.

Xanax has a short half life and kicks in quick good for short bursts of anxiety

Ativan is pretty much the same just not quite as fast and short of a half life

Valium takes a while like up to an hour to kick in and has a half like up to 100 hours supposedly but either way its much much longer than xanax and ativan.

If you dont know what im talking about with HL, Equapotency, etc you should post in BDD

id take the valium. though i dont feel like 10mg is really quite equal to 1 mg of xanax or 2 of ativan. it doesnt take anywhere near an hour for me to feel valium.

Go for 1mg Xanax, unless you can get 20mg of Valium, that would probably be a bit nicer. Depends on what you're looking for, though both will just chill you out nicely and you'll have a wonderful sleep. Valium lingers for quite a while, so expect to feel at least a little loopy the next day but benzos at those doses aren't too serious you are essentially sober, just more chilled out.