Forum Rules Film Chit-Chat
    Recently Watched Best Documentaries
    ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️
  • Film & TV Moderators: ghostfreak

FILM: Momento ... need help figuring it out

starlightgemini

Bluelighter
FILM: Memento ... need help figuring it out

I watched this movie (Momento) the other day. I think its from 1999 or something. It was really damn good but really twisted. If you've seen it you obviously know what I'm talking about. I'm not really good at figuring out complex movies and this one drove me crazy because it wasn't in chronological order. It wasn't even in perfect backwards order.

Anyways....I thought I had parts of it figured out until the end and then my theory got blown. And for some reason I can't let this go....I have to figure out what the hell actually happened in this movie. So, if anyone can help fill in the blanks it would be much appreciated. :) I'm contemplating watching it again in hopes of picking up things I missed before.

~Kristen

Last edited by a moderator:
hi there

i think, as with all art, it's open to interpretation.

it's a great film which often raises a lot of questions and can be discussed for hours... :)

perhaps it would be easier to focus on specific issues with the plot?

what was your theory for what happened? why do you feel it breaks down?

alasdair

I thought that the end showed you that he had already killed his wife's killer but he forgot about it so he was still looking for him.

The black and white scenes were going backwards in time, the colour scenes were happening chronologically.

But as it turns out it's nothing but a vicious circle anyway

alasdairm said:
what was your theory for what happened? why do you feel it breaks down?