• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Saving Lives (Still Standing)

OxySniffSniff

Greenlighter
Hello, everyone! My Name is Joe. I'm an underweight, unhealthy 22yr old man from PA. I've suffered from Opiate addiction since I was 16yrs old. By the time I was 17, I was taking 325mg of oxycodone at once every single day. I switched from painkillers to Heroin when I was 18.

After I graduated from high school, my parents sent me to a 12-Step rehab in Arizona for 2 months. I relapsed 2 hours after I came back home. At that point I felt so depressed, and I felt worthless that I started to hate myself. I felt like I was trapped and alone. I loved my parents so much that I felt like the only way to stop myself from ruining their lives, was to take my own. I was eventually given Suboxone to help taper myself off of Opiates. I ended up relapsing while I was taking the Suboxone.

On August 25th, 2015, I accidentally overdosed and killed myself in my bathroom from Heroin laced with Fentanyl. My dad found me on the bathroom floor. My lips were blue and my skin was starting to harden. My dad immediately dragged my dead body into the hallway and started giving me CPR. I didn't even have a pulse. I was dead for 8 minutes straight. When the ambulance arrived at my house, they started to feel a light pulse. They gave me a shot of Narcan, but I didn't respond to it. So they gave me a 2nd shot of Narcan. And 20 seconds later, I finally woke up. To this day, I still feel ashamed for making my dad see my dead body on the floor, and for making him do CPR on me for 8 minutes, not knowing whether it was already too late.

I've been clean ever since that night. My new passion is helping other people understand that there really is a light at the end of the tunnel. Whether they're suffering from a drug addiction, alcoholism, food addiction, or even if they have depression that has nothing to do with addiction.