• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Four years of nicotine use, gone.

cert

Greenlighter
After four years of using nicotine products such as cigarettes and chewing tobacco I've been off of it for about a month. This is my first time trying to quit and will be the only time. I don't really have the urge to go out and buy a pack of cigarettes but when I see a friend smoking I do want one. Personally didn't want to use nicotine patches or gum so I went cold turkey. I've been thinking carrying some beef jerky around might be a good idea if I do ever get urges or maybe just chewing gum.

Also how long does it usually take for the lungs to heal back to normal?

Good for you! I plan to go cold turkey off tobacco soon too. I don't know how long it takes, but I can tell you that after a month your health is significantly improved.

Having a substitute for that oral fixation is a good idea.

Im on over a month.. something was different this time though.. this time when i see people smoking I just think how utterly foolish they look8(. I really cant think of one reason to smoke. Nice work.. the last time I quit I made it five months.. and if i remember correct at about month 4 or so, it was like i was cured.. so cured i thought i could just have a cig or two with everyone at work on break.. yeah.. this will probably make sense to someone so I will write it.. I had one because I really didn't want one.. or more like hell i dont even crave those things anymore at all so I will just be able to have one or two at work.. wrong for me.. was back on the insanity of tobacco in less than a week.. congratulations.. smoking is awful.

Last edited: