• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Abusing my prescription :S

Rabbitheart

Greenlighter
Hi, newbie here, so I'm sorry if I say something I shouldn't!
I'm a student who has chronic depression, ADHD and an eating disorder.
I was using coke quite a bit a while back but it's not exactly student budget friendly. So when I could no longer afford that habit, I began abusing my Ritalin, which I'm prescribed for my ADHD.
At first I just snorted my regular dose, but things escalated really fast, and just 3 months or so later I do it every single day, Often with alcohol, going through my months prescription in no time. I feel ill and can't function when I don't have it.
Has anyone else been addicted to Ritalin? How did you overcome it?
I hate this :(

God I really wish they wouldn't give out ritalin to people who take advantage of it like you.

I think you should tell your doctor you're abusing it because you obviously can't handle being prescribed stimulants like that, so hopefully he'll cut you off if he has any sense. But I think we both know that's unlikely to happen!

You might enjoy taking it now but in the future when you suffer serious health problems down the road like cardiovascular problems and risk death at an early age you'll wish you'd never fucked around with it in the first place. You might want to contact a substance misuse physician who can help you overcome your proclivity to abuse drugs in general.

Good luck mate, you'll need it! I mean that genuinely.

I've only taken Ritalin a few times but I've very much abused my benzo and opiate scripts in the past so I can still relate. What I did was I came forward to my doctor and told him the truth so that he'd stop prescribing them to me. I didn't want to do it, but I forced myself and trust me, I felt so proud to have managed it and that really helped me get clean off the benzos.