• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

How To Not Become An Amphetafiend Again?

Pariahprose

Bluelighter
Ok, I was addicted to meth from ages 16-21, for my last two yrs n highschool, I mainly used it 2 help study,do work, and improve my grades. It helped, though sometimes it wud b too much. After I graduated, I continued to use, with no other reason than 2 get high. Meth ended up costing me so much during those yrs...

Here I am now,going to be 25 this June and possibly at the start of a similar problem. I am seeing a psychiatrist and have been diagnosed as Adult ADHD 2 which he gave me Adderall IR 20mg (this place has my record on file or so I thought so I didnt expect a schedule 2 substance 2 be prescribed so easily to someone like myself). The medicine really helps when taken as prescribed, I can focus more,organize/plan tasks better, and actually complete a task without getting distracted or daydreaming. But I also like the effects when used in a dose above the recomended one(I found this out yrs b4 ever being presribed and had never taken them near the recomended dose until I got my own script).

What can I do 2 make sure that I once again dont become and Amphetafiend? I cannot rely on my gf for this,as she likes the effects to(though in not nearly as high of an amount). Straterra doesnt work for me either btw(if its still even on the market),the only ADHD medications that do work are the ones that are stimulants. Plz help,as I have more 2 loose now than I ever had...

Pariahprose

Let me ask you this: how much of a length of time have you spent truly abstinent in pursuit of unlearning that which you'd either taught yourself or been told by others about ADHD; that is, that amphetamines and other stimulant drugs are the most beneficial treatment for your symptoms?