• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids New to IVing , used wrist vien now swollen bump? help?

missmegandelaney

Bluelighter
So I shot a 1/2 p not very much, but im new to this rout.
my viens are very small, so we tried my wrist.
its really painful at the spot and it's been hours.
is this normal? did i miss?

Yeah it sounds like you missed a part of your shot, which would account for what you are describing.

You should apply a heat compress.

Yeah it sounds like you missed a part of your shot, which would account for what you are describing.

You should apply a heat compress.

Agreed. Sounds like a full on miss to me. Did you register, or even attempt to register? Did it burn while you were injecting? (it shouldn't if you're doing it right) Like Cap said, use a hot compress and then an ice pack to take away the swelling. Next time.. don't miss? Hah.

What did you inject? I'm pretty awful with my hands and used to be really clumsy... If you miss even a tiny bit with meth you'll get massive bruising/swelling. I've never had any complications that required medical attention, but I've left my arms looking pretty gross before. As others have said, if you feel a burn at all while you're injecting, then you're missing the vein, at least a bit. Injecting heroin and missing a bit on the other hand, doesn't usually end so rough - normally much milder bruising and not much swelling at all, in my experience anyway.

Seek medical condition, no drug is worth possibly losing your hand or life over.

i'd say miss if it doesn't get smaller and hurt way less in 2 days go to a doctor immediately