• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids how to get your tolerance level down after long term opiate use?

HT harm redux

Bluelighter
I have been using opiates (mainly prescribed) for about 5 years now. my high points of usage were 8-10 roxies a day and later on 200mg of morphine and 60mg of oxycodone per day. i have now lowered my dose to just 40 mg of opana per day with no break through meds. and i detoxed terribly when coming down to the opana from 200mg of morphine a day. i thought that would lower my tolerance but it seems it hasnt. i dont go through withdrawals anymore on the 20mg opana twice a day but when i decide to take my oxy breakthrough meds i dont feel anything. even with as high a dose as 80mg in one sitting on the opana. I dont feel it at all. not even very good pain relief anymore. Whats a way i can lower my tolerance so that i can feel the opiates again? Ive heard that DXM can help as well as zinc and magnesium. but do those only help make you feel a lower dose? or do they actually work to lower tolerance over a period of time? any input would be greatly appreciated. because now even grape fruit juice doesnt help anymore.

Nice to see a fellow Georgian on here man. Unfortunately after 6 years of opiate abuse, the only ways that I have found to lower tolerance is to stop using strong opiates for months and then try again, this of course can be dangerous so I would not advise in doing this.