• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

The Recipe Thread! Part II: Electric Mixaroo

Amazon Bee

Bluelighter
im wondering what to cook tonight! im thinking steaks on the grill(okay the man is actually the grillmaster) with sauteed mushrooms, a little salad and baked biscuits or rolls.. but a few more sides would probably help round out the meal.

im just learning my way around the kitchen recently and have discovered that i love to cook! especially when i get to eat with a hungry man who really appreciates whatever i make, despite my meals usually being quite simple basic dishes.

i thus far regularly cook:
~my dad's saffron rice with sweet-potato, pidgeon peas("gandules vertes"), garlic, onion, and other spices
~ravioli/tortellini with vodka tomato-cream sauce
~rice-a-roni (his childhood fave)
~awesome omelets with any combo of {bacon, ham, mushrooms, green onions, onions, cheddar, avocado, leftover steak} my specialty!
~spaghetti(angelhair) & meat sauce
~mish-mash a.k.a. breakfast for dinner : hash browns, bacon, green onions, cheese, mushrooms and grilled onions all mixed together with biscuits & gravy on the side
~hamburger helper (another fave from childhood)
probably a few others too im overlooking atm.

like i said, im really just starting out here!

:D

i remember i loved how my mom put meals together, like a tasty porkchop with white rice, peas or broccoli, apple sauce, maybe a baked sweet potato and sourcream.. just a bunch of options thrown together on a plate, but mostly simple and quick to make. i know she was actually a great cook, into lots of "world cuisine" but i was so picky she stuck to simple things i liked. now i want to do the same! she seemed to know how to cook most any common side dish and always threw down new combos.

so, im looking for new options to try! what do you know how to cook? or what did your mom/granny/family/roomates make that you always loved?

have any homemade recipes you invented i could duplicate?