PDA

View Full Version : Pages load incredibly slow if at all...



Pages : [1] 2 3 4

addictivepersona
20-06-2010, 12:57
It's just Bluelight, no other sites. The forums and posts, everything on this site, loads incredibly slow and most times times out if I don't click the link again/refresh the page. Very rarely does this site load quickly. Is there any way I can fix this on my end?

Using Firefox 3.6.3, with Adblock Plus, on Windows XP home.

MazDan
21-06-2010, 14:23
Yes I had a few probs on the weekend also.

fizzle
21-06-2010, 23:55
I've been having this problem more frequently lately as well. Not sure whats causing it but I'll let everyone know if I get any word.

addictivepersona
22-06-2010, 03:34
MazDan, it's every day for me, not just the weekends...

phr
22-06-2010, 03:51
No problem here and I'm on daily.

Have you tried a different browser?

Maybe a different internet connection?

TheLoveBandit
22-06-2010, 04:56
I've not experienced any issues, and I'm probably on more than the average bear.

For those of you with issues, can you help fill in the blanks as to what might be causing it by mentioning the following:

A - what browser are you using?
B - does it have this effect in all browsers?
C - is it just bluelight, or are you experiencing other site slowdowns or other computer issues
D - are you bouncing through proxies?
E - where is your real ISP (only as much geography as you are willing to reveal publicly)? - the point being, perhaps there is a hub that is experiencing slowdowns on the net and you're getting caught in those, or perhaps your ISP is flexing some restraints

Pegasus
22-06-2010, 07:15
A few years ago, I seem to remember this problem happening in certain, localized areas (mine being one of them with people near me having the same problem)...

MazDan
22-06-2010, 09:24
I've not experienced any issues, and I'm probably on more than the average bear.

For those of you with issues, can you help fill in the blanks as to what might be causing it by mentioning the following:

A - what browser are you using?
B - does it have this effect in all browsers?
C - is it just bluelight, or are you experiencing other site slowdowns or other computer issues
D - are you bouncing through proxies?
E - where is your real ISP (only as much geography as you are willing to reveal publicly)? - the point being, perhaps there is a hub that is experiencing slowdowns on the net and you're getting caught in those, or perhaps your ISP is flexing some restraints

Its no longer a problem for me. Only happenned for a while on the weekend. May not have even been bluelight.

addictivepersona
24-06-2010, 00:25
A - what browser are you using?
B - does it have this effect in all browsers?
C - is it just bluelight, or are you experiencing other site slowdowns or other computer issues
D - are you bouncing through proxies?
E - where is your real ISP (only as much geography as you are willing to reveal publicly)?

A - Mozilla Firefox version 3.6.3 (upgrading to 3.6.4... gonna see if that makes a diff.)
B - I don't use IE ever, but I just loaded BL in it and there don't appear to be any issues... The pages load slower than others, but not as slow as in Firefox...
C - It's just Bluelight. My computer is quite old (goin' on four years; has one GIG of RAM) but no other sites have issues loading day in and day out.
D - I have no idea what that means...
E - Time Warner Cable.

So, looks like it's Firefox... Any idea how I can fix it? I know I probably have to give ya more information but I don't know what in particular.

alasdairm
24-06-2010, 07:45
it may not just be bluelight...

when i run a 'tracert' to bluelight.ru, there are between 10 and 30 computers between me and bl, any one of which could be the source of the problem (except i have no problem :) )

if you (plural) are having trouble, try something like this: http://visualroute.visualware.com/ which might help identify the problem. (once you have run the trace, click on the 'analysis' tab).

alasdair

addictivepersona
24-06-2010, 14:30
^^ I did that and got this: http://i46.tinypic.com/2m6qqdx.jpg

"...there could be problems with the DNS server on the originating network." Does that mean my computer? I've gotten messages about DNS errors before... I've just let 'em go 'cause I couldn't find any info. about fixin' 'em. Mostly they'd pop up when my Internet was working according to the cable company but wasn't working for my computer.

phr
25-06-2010, 04:17
I get relatively the same DNS lookup time and I don't have any issues.


Better in IE, huh? Did you try running FF in safe mode to rule out any extension interference?

addictivepersona
25-06-2010, 04:39
Just ran FF in safe mode and am still having the same issues...

Captain.Heroin
25-06-2010, 13:17
I hope you find a solution to this OP, I find Bluelight's server is slow sometimes but most of the time not (for me/my internet connection).

Good luck!

alasdairm
25-06-2010, 20:40
^^ I did that and got this: http://i46.tinypic.com/2m6qqdx.jpg

"...there could be problems with the DNS server on the originating network." Does that mean my computer? I've gotten messages about DNS errors before... I've just let 'em go 'cause I couldn't find any info. about fixin' 'em. Mostly they'd pop up when my Internet was working according to the cable company but wasn't working for my computer.try switching to a different dns lookup - say opendns (https://www.opendns.com/start) or google dns (8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4) - and see what happens?

alasdair

addictivepersona
26-06-2010, 03:21
Would doing what it says on that opendns site cause security issues with my computer? ... I changed it for my computer and it didn't help... I think I'm gonna have to change it for my network. I've gotten issues in the past where the cable company says I have Internet based on the output my modem's putting out, but I've gotten error messages from my computer "Could not find a server in DNS"... And not knowing what that meant, I'd just turn off the modem/router for a bit, plug it back in, and it'd work...

addictivepersona
03-07-2010, 08:48
try switching to a different dns lookup - say opendns (https://www.opendns.com/start) or google dns (8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4) - and see what happens?

alasdair

Tried both OpenDNS and Google's DNS settings for both my computer and network...Neither sped up BlueLight... Should I have used one for my router, the other for my network at the same time? I used the same DNS setting for both the computer and network...

*Sigh*

MazDan
03-07-2010, 08:55
Seems to be playing up again for me sporadically but checked and not a problem on any other pages.

I use firefox only so dunno about other browsers.

fizzle
04-07-2010, 18:57
I wonder if its just certain times when there happens to be a lot of traffic...

nioreh0422
04-07-2010, 19:16
I wonder if its just certain times when there happens to be a lot of traffic...

^ probably this...Every internet site including BL is extremely fast so I'm assuming it's either the amount of traffic at times or the OP connection.

addictivepersona
04-07-2010, 19:39
It seems to be at times when a lot of people are on here, but even when they're not, it's still painfully slow and times out...

It's probably my connection--I've gotten errors about DNS servers and crap in the past. Never did anything about 'em 'cause I don't know enough about them to fix 'em.

addictivepersona
11-07-2010, 15:21
So... I changed my DNS servers back to what they were originally... Loaded BlueLight in IE... and it's slow, but pages load. Anybody have any idea as to why Firefox doesn't work but IE does? You'd think it'd be the other way around...

EoTorv
12-07-2010, 03:18
I was googling around for a possible solution to your problem and I thought I'd share two threads from other forums that could help.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/microsoft-support/windows-xp-support/200476-solved-only-one-important-website-runs-slow.html <<In this thread someone's simaler problem turned out to be zonealarm pro. Its an older thread & might not be applicable anymore.

http://forums.pcworld.com/index.php?/topic/84879-website-loads-slow/ << This thread probably covers what is happening but no real solutions, the good thing is the internet reroutes itself a lot. I had a shitty connection to CBS for about a week and a half while they had some shows I was really wanting to watch. Everybody else was connecting fine and no amount of tweaks on my end could improve it. Suddenly one day it was better all on its own.

Mr_Fluffykins
12-07-2010, 06:42
i noticed it too, but i jsut thought my internet was being gay

addictivepersona
12-07-2010, 16:37
http://www.techsupportforum.com/microsoft-support/windows-xp-support/200476-solved-only-one-important-website-runs-slow.html <<In this thread someone's simaler problem turned out to be zonealarm pro. Its an older thread & might not be applicable anymore.This may solve the problem--I have Zone Alarm. Hrm. I'm going to uninstall it (after I find something comparable). Worth a shot--I value this site more than ZoneAlarm, lol. Buuuut I also don't need viruses on my comp. So, thanks again--I will try it out soon and post back.

fizzle
12-07-2010, 19:00
Wow, ET, thank you for looking into those!

EoTorv
12-07-2010, 22:21
This may solve the problem--I have Zone Alarm. Hrm. I'm going to uninstall it (after I find something comparable). Worth a shot--I value this site more than ZoneAlarm, lol. Buuuut I also don't need viruses on my comp. So, thanks again--I will try it out soon and post back. A lot of people feel the necessity for a third party firewall ended with XP SP2 when the Windows firewall was added. This proposition can become a "Holy War" on tech boards and I know some disagree strongly. Comodo is a popular free firewall but at least at first it is much more of a constant worrying nag than ZA.

addictivepersona
13-07-2010, 05:00
EoTory, thanks again for looking into this for me. I had tried using Google, believe me, but it got me no where.

Last night I stumbled upon the Comodo firewall. Tried installing it tonight and I keep getting errors (it can't find a required file to install it)... So, I'm going to go without any firewall for a bit, see if nothing bad happens to my computer, lol. There wasn't a firewall on my mom's computer for awhile, and one day it got overrun with tons of crap. But, I think she clicked something she shouldn't have (she's not computer savvy).

What's weird though is that BlueLight still appears to be loading slow... When I first come to the site, the first two or three pages will load slow but normal for my comp. Any clicks after that will be incredibly slow, but they're no longer timing out... So, it's an improvement... :-/

I'll post back here after running CCleaner and cleaning out my cache and whatnot later tonight (aka tomorrow morning for you normal folk).

Thank you SO MUCH again, EoTory. :) This is definitely an improvement.

MazDan
13-07-2010, 09:16
I wish I had zonealarm as then i could get a fix.

Interestingly I am finbding the biggest problems come when i try doing mod stuff such as merging etc.

getting into the site never ever causes a problem but trying to do mod stuff and sometimes posting does cause a prob.

addictivepersona
17-07-2010, 15:48
I wish I had zonealarm as then i could get a fix.What do you mean by a fix?

And unfortunately BlueLight is now slower than ever before... I don't know what happened. I'd try completely clearing Firefox but who knows if that'll fix anything, and I like having my History there so I can search it and don't have to Bookmark everything, ya know?

Oh, also, TheLoveBandit, if you read this, you said before: "where is your real ISP [...]? - the point being, perhaps there is a hub that is experiencing slowdowns on the net and you're getting caught in those, or perhaps your ISP is flexing some restraints" I'm near Rochester, NY and I know of someone in Northern Ohio who's having issues with this site... Northern Ohio's not *too* far from here... Probably the same ISP--Time Warner has a monopoly. Speaking of which, if they're preventing me from coming to this site (why would they?), is there any way I can get access? IDK, the wiring and everything around here is so antiquated, I don't doubt there's an issue along the way and that it's not my computer, though it is old...

Dafer
17-07-2010, 16:42
I'm having this problem too. Only happens on BL. I'm using firefox, win xp on an old heap, windows firewall and on a cable connection from virgin. Need to format hard drive and reinstall windows anyway, will see if that makes any difference.

addictivepersona
23-07-2010, 13:32
I'm having this problem too. Only happens on BL. I'm using firefox, win xp on an old heap, windows firewall and on a cable connection from virgin. Need to format hard drive and reinstall windows anyway, will see if that makes any difference.

Did it help? I have an old POS computer--It could probably use a reformat and whatnot... If that improved BL for you, I may give it a shot... It's gotten rediculous now--Doesn't even load in FF lately without refreshing it a million times and waiting like five minutes per page...

fizzle
23-07-2010, 20:31
^Is it still only for BL? I've never had problems anywhere near that bad.

MazDan
24-07-2010, 03:22
I seem to have tracked my problems down to firefox.

It is such a terrible browser since it got so big and seems to cause hassles from time to time.

I started having probs with another site as well and a reboot and change of IP address fixed it.

addictivepersona
24-07-2010, 10:44
^Is it still only for BL? I've never had problems anywhere near that bad.It's still just BL. Fitday.com started acting up the other day, but it was temporary and after a few minutes it fixed itself.


I seem to have tracked my problems down to firefox.

It is such a terrible browser since it got so big and seems to cause hassles from time to time.

I started having probs with another site as well and a reboot and change of IP address fixed it.What browser would you recommend? 'Cause I don't feel secure surfin' the 'net with IE. I've used Opera in the past--Is that a decent enough browser?

Maybe rebooting would help? I reboot my comp. every week or so, but mostly I just leave it in hibernation mode (note: not standby mode)... After I reboot it, I don't notice any difference in BL but I've never really paid close attention to it... Next time I reboot I'll check BL first thing. I'd reboot now but I've got a lot going... Maybe I just need a new computer? Four year old laptop... and I don't have a way to change my IP address as it's set by my ISP...

EoTorv
24-07-2010, 11:09
Chrome has a reputation as the fastest rendering and most stable browser. http://www.google.com/chrome

If someone else could let you use their laptop on your connection you could see if your computer is a part of the problem. When is the last time you restarted your modem and router? Another way to see if it has anything to do with your Windows setup would be to use a liveCD. Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/get),PClinuxOS (http://pclinuxos.com/) and Puppy Linux (http://www.puppylinux.com/) are among the easier ones to work with and do OK with less powerful systems.

addictivepersona
24-07-2010, 14:47
Chrome has a reputation as the fastest rendering and most stable browser. http://www.google.com/chrome

If someone else could let you use their laptop on your connection you could see if your computer is a part of the problem. When is the last time you restarted your modem and router? Another way to see if it has anything to do with your Windows setup would be to use a liveCD. Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/get),PClinuxOS (http://pclinuxos.com/) and Puppy Linux (http://www.puppylinux.com/) are among the easier ones to work with and do OK with less powerful systems.

Tomorrow (later today, lol) I'll use my mom's computer and see if that one has issues with BL.

I last restarted my modem and router maybe a month or so ago? Every once in awhile it fucks up and needs to be restarted. Have had tech support out here many times and their "readers" (for lack of a better term) don't detect any issues with our lines or with their modem (they can't really test the router)... But yeah, everything seems "fine" on their end. Yet the Internet goes down every couple weeks and a hard reset (right term?) of the modem and router's the only way to fix it. THAT issue is not just my computer--My mom's and my old computer both don't have Internet either. And having a computer wired to the modem/router doesn't help either as my mom's was like that for awhile.

If it is my computer, I'll look into getting Chrome. Well, I'm going to look into getting that anyways. If that doesn't solve the problem, I'll look into a liveCD--Though I honestly have no idea what that means (I'm guessing where you run your system from the disc drive).

But yeah, restarted my computer a few hours ago and came on here (well, attempted to...): Main page didn't want to load. Tried five times then gave up 'til now where the main page loaded seamlessly, this forum loaded seamlessly, then this thread took quite a few tries...

EoTorv
24-07-2010, 15:07
If another computer run on your home network has the same problems w/ BL that your laptop has, than a live CD isn't going to help. That was just something you could do as an alternative to testing if another computer has the same issues. But either by a 2nd computer or alternative OS having the same problem or not having the problem we'll have somewhat isolated where the problem is.

Did you try using an alternative DNS server as alasdairm suggested early in this thread? Google instructions (http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html)
OpenDNS (https://www.opendns.com/start/)

DNS servers other than your ips's are usually a little slower because u have to go "further" to fetch the info. But it might help w/ the BL situation.

Try the Chrome first as its the easiest. Most recent stuff I've read about FF having problems with vBulletin are about WYSIWYG editing making FF slow or buggy which doesn't apply here because BL has that feature shutoff.

addictivepersona
25-07-2010, 04:22
^I had tried changing my DNS server--Tried OpenDNS and Google's DNS. Neither helped. Posted about that quite a few back.

Never tried BL on my mom's computer--Went right to Chrome. It's unbelievable how fast this forum is now. However, I have noticed other sites are slower with Chrome. But, I've noticed sites have been loading quicker the more I visit 'em (which makes sense 'cause of stored info. and whatnot).

So, the issue seems to be resolved (finally!). But, we'll see. I'm going to give it a couple days, then post back here. ET, I owe ya one. Even though now I have to get used to a new browser, lol.

Klue
26-07-2010, 06:03
This thread has prompted me to try Chrome again. It will take a bit of getting used to but seems to the few pages I've tried (eg smh.com.au) load pages quicker than firefox did. Bluelight is still a bit slow, and just as slow as in FF... but it's kinda always been like that.

I wonder if there was a notable difference in how quick BL loads after the prune a while back. From memory, that was the reason for the purge...

welshmick
26-07-2010, 16:40
I only find a problem with the Animated GIF thread.

I use FF, but it can kill it sometimes.

Otherwise no problems here UK/Wales :)

Enki
31-07-2010, 08:31
If one ends up using BL on a very slow connection like dial-up or an impaired connection, you might want to kill the loading of pictures in your browser or through BL settings. In userCP you can shut off images from loading through the 'edit options' then scroll to 'Thread Display Options' within that category I would unselect all three while on a slow connection 'Show Signatures', "Show Avatars', and 'Show Images (including attached images and images in [IMG] code)'

TALLY 2.0
13-09-2010, 06:26
I have a pretty fast internet connection. I have clocked my internet speeds at over 30 Mb/s. So why is it that bluelight is going so damn slow for me?

Have you made it so my speed is slower that everyone elses because I was banned and its a precaution so I dont do some crazy shit?

If so, I dont care. Thats cool. Just let me know, because its bothering the shit outta me and Ive been trying everything to fix it.

or is bluelight slow period?

Enki
13-09-2010, 06:36
Have you tried another browser or another computer on the same connection? Someone with a similar problem found a big improvement by switching from Firefox to Chrome a while back and indicated the problem was with one computer and not others. Most people w/ Firefox are having no problems but some settings or addons may have problems with vBulletin.

RedLeader
13-09-2010, 06:46
Have you made it so my speed is slower that everyone elses because I was banned and its a precaution so I dont do some crazy shit?

haha, no :)

BL has been moving slow at times over the past week or so - trust me we've also felt it. All I can say for now is that it's likely not something browser, style, location,...-specific (well unless you have a specific thing and you're being hit twice 8o) and that hopefully it will either *magically* fix itself soon or we'll have a look under the hood in the near future.

Sympathy and empathy to anyone feeling as if BL's being a tortoise.

TALLY 2.0
13-09-2010, 08:07
LOL That would be pretty cool if you could make it so certain members had slower speeds. You guys should look into that.

Thanks for the help.:)

Enki
13-09-2010, 08:17
They would never throttle a member's connection as a punitive measure, they would just prioritize all the other member's bandwidth as a reward for good behavior. ;)

fizzle
14-09-2010, 07:56
Mines been slow too :( It seems like several people are having the same problem... hopefully hoptis will wave his magic fingers soon to fix it.

edtree
25-10-2010, 00:11
^^
Looks like it's bin 3 months since the last prob with this but just wanna say having the same probs as you guys for the last week and am worried that it could be that a third party is involved that is trying to get info? Is that unhealthy paranoia? Don't wanna leave the site but its freaking me out!!!
H O
edtree

btw were in oztrailer.

Enki
25-10-2010, 00:26
Its not likely a third party at all. Almost zero chance. Servers with big loads and heavily utilized databases like we have here, periodically have slow downs from heavy use or ongoing maintenance. Periods like this with slowdowns and glitches actually can happen a lot more on less trafficked boards and wikis. Some "turbulence" is expected to happen once in a with every server.