• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

do opiates make you hungry?

shmeglyn

Bluelighter
I just realized that when I take percocet or vicodin I don't neccessarily get the munchies persay but I almost have a little oral fixation and feel like snacking. Is that just me? Is this a dumbass "everybody knows that" question? My apologies if it is. I'm no pro.

Side question:Just curious, How often/how much do you take if you are on Rx painkillers? I seem to want them more often everyday and now it seems I'm taking them almost around the clock if I have a good supply. I used to only take them in the evening and bedtime to mellow out and wind down/watch tv, but now I like to feel good all day even when working or doing normal stuff. So I'll take up to 10 hydro's a day but it still doesn't do as much as I would like. And when I do my Rx only lasts 3 days or so.

1) Opiates make me want to have something sweet. Like a sweet drink.

2) Welcome to the world of addiction. When I began, was RXed 100 pills for 14 days & reached a point within 6 months, say, where I'd do 100 pills in a day. However, I needed then 13 days * 100 pills or an equivalent. I began then to get early refills etc. Man, it's a mad downward spiral, and it'll happen so quick you won't believe. Good luck with it dude.

It depends on the opiate. Most make me not hungry at all but oxycodone and hydromorphone make me want to eat and eat and eat (gained 60lbs in 3 months because of oxycodone). Ice cream is my favourite!