PDA

View Full Version : do opiates make you hungry?

Pages : [1] 2

shmeglyn
11-06-2008, 22:03
I just realized that when I take percocet or vicodin I don't neccessarily get the munchies persay but I almost have a little oral fixation and feel like snacking. Is that just me? Is this a dumbass "everybody knows that" question? My apologies if it is. I'm no pro.

Side question:Just curious, How often/how much do you take if you are on Rx painkillers? I seem to want them more often everyday and now it seems I'm taking them almost around the clock if I have a good supply. I used to only take them in the evening and bedtime to mellow out and wind down/watch tv, but now I like to feel good all day even when working or doing normal stuff. So I'll take up to 10 hydro's a day but it still doesn't do as much as I would like. And when I do my Rx only lasts 3 days or so.

browntar
11-06-2008, 22:05
1) Opiates make me want to have something sweet. Like a sweet drink.

2) Welcome to the world of addiction. When I began, was RXed 100 pills for 14 days & reached a point within 6 months, say, where I'd do 100 pills in a day. However, I needed then 13 days * 100 pills or an equivalent. I began then to get early refills etc. Man, it's a mad downward spiral, and it'll happen so quick you won't believe. Good luck with it dude.

Smurfeh
11-06-2008, 23:59
It depends on the opiate. Most make me not hungry at all but oxycodone and hydromorphone make me want to eat and eat and eat (gained 60lbs in 3 months because of oxycodone). Ice cream is my favourite!

shmeglyn
12-06-2008, 02:12
i do seem to notice it more with oxycodone than anything else. i think it's not hunger but a need to chew or taste - nothing like rolling, which I've only ever done twice, but a milder version of it.

djsim
12-06-2008, 17:28
I get sugar cravings when I've used codeine/morphine/pethidine. I know other ppl who say the same thing...
I think it's the skinny peniless junky who makes this phenomenon seem like a fallicy