• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Questions about blood-brain-barrier

Mr Blonde

Bluelighter
OK, so from what I've read, in order for molecules to pass the blood-brain-barrier they have to have lipid solubility. Lipids are fat-soluble molecules, right?

Secondly, the blood-brain-barrier makes it difficult for hydrophillic molecules to pass through as well.

So...

1) What is the difference between, for example, L-DOPA and dopamine that makes one lipid soluble and the other not? L-DOPA has a carboxylic acid group added...that makes a molecule lipid soluble? In all cases or just some?

Dopamine
Dopamine.gif

L-DOPA
L-DOPA.gif

2) It's difficult for hydrophillic molecules to cross the BBB...but many recreational drugs are hydrophillic. Does lipid solubility win rock-paper-scissors over the obstacles facing hydrophillic molecules?

I'd appreciate some responses, I'm a novice at this neuropharmacology stuff and I'm always trying to learn some more...would like to see the ADD neuropharmocology text get finished some day! :)

L-dopa crosses the BBB transported by LAT-1 (L or Large amino acid transporter) this transporter moves amino acids like phenylalanine and tyrosine across the BBB, so it has nothing to do with lipid solubility.
it is true that many centrally active are hydrophillic but most are salts which can exist as freebase at physiological pH and it is the uncharged freebase which diffuses across the BBB, there are general rules for CNS active drugs based on lipinskis rule of 5, with a few modifications. do a search for it and there is quite a lot of information where they tested the rules with known cns active drugs with pretty good results.
Things that are permanently charged tend to find it almost impossible to cross.
similarly stuff that is very lipid like gets stuck in the lipid layer and is very poor at getting into the CNS.