• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

University vs. College -or- Degrees vs. Diplomas

Cyc

Bluelighter
I am a College student currently finishing my 2nd diploma program. Next year I'm going for my 3rd. When I get out of school, I will have 3 diplomas in practical and theoretical studies for a total run of five years. I feel like I've (so far) taken a lot from College. To be honest, I wouldn't choose University for the world.

So, what I want to know - is why most people in this forum opted, instead, for University.

Is University somehow better than College? Do employers look at someone with an undergrad degree and say, "Well this person can recite popular authors from the 18th century" and hire them based on that?

Does 4-8 years studying something like History, or Sociology qualify you for that many good jobs?

It just seems to me like a lot of people go to University as some rite of passage into the corporate world. Not taking into account specialized studies like law, or medicine, I don't see how something as vague as archaeology, psychology, or criminology really apply to many real-world jobs that are available. What kind of employer has the money to hire someone to recite theory and minutia?

It just seems to me like if you want to actually help people, get into human services. If you want to fight crime, go to a police academy. I mean, you'll have to do all these things anyways - so why the University?

Don't get me wrong, I find a lot of these subjects fascinating - I have no problem studying them as a hobby or out of sheer interest; but when I look at something like school, I want it to teach me something a textbook can't. I don't just mean forcing me to write essays, or study for tests, but actually take me through a process of doing something constructive. I want it to give me a feel for what I might be doing after graduation, y'know?

Honestly, if I ever lost a good job to someone simply because they took some vaguely related Uni. course, I'd feel cheated.