• Philosophy and Spirituality
    Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Threads of Note Socialize
  • P&S Moderators: Xorkoth | Madness

Buddhism: Turning your killer instinct upon itself.

psychoblast

Bluelighter
So, I became a buddhist tonite. Thought I'd share it with you. It is quite a relief for me.

I recall in high school, I did a paper on zen buddhism. In my research, I came across the concept of enlightenment. Zazen. I think the only sure thing from my research was that the sense of zazen cannot be communicated, cannot be taught, really. You just have to medidate long enough, and hope your mind spins off in the right tangent and BOOM, your enlightened. And then you won't be able to tell anyone how to get there, either.

As a perfect product of the rational Western civilization, I was opposed to this concept with every fiber of my being. I majored in philosophy and studied, and idolized, logic. And rationally anything that can be experienced, can be communicated. So I had a fundamental skepticism of enlightenment. It was not logical to have an uncommunicatable truth.

So, perhaps from that time in high school and since, my goal in life as been to achieve enlightenment and to rationally figure it out and dissect it so that it can be communicated, marketed, mass produced. To bring enlightenment to the masses.

Now, though, I think that the problem is not that you cannot communicate enlightenment, but that there does not seem to be any point. Whether you find it or not, your part of the dance. And the point is to enjoy the dance, no matter where the steps lead.

But since it has been essentially the life's work of a genius (myself) to both achieve enlightenment, and to find out how to logically break it down and communicate it, now that I have achieved the former, I may as well give the latter a shot.