Mental Health What happens to Schizo's on meds if they get liver or kidney disease

Boku_

Bluelighter
As someone who has been on anti-psychotic medications long term and as a person diagnosed with a Schizo type condition chances are i will require anti-psychotic medications for the rest of my natural life not too mention other medication like diazaipam occasionally so what happens to a person with my mental illness who is unfortunate to develop liver or kidney disease?

Is it a case of the person needing to instantly stop taking his medication because it is doing far to much damage to their liver or kidneys? I can't imagine the life expectancy for a person who requires medication daily to function and cope mentally would be that good if their liver packed it in or their kidneys failed and dialysis was needed to live.

I know you can always get a organ transplant if you are lucky but how many people die waiting in hospitals for a replacement liver or kidney.

Well, I'm not an expert by any means, however I think there's a few different points to this question that need addressing.

For starters, those with such a mental illness, if left untreated, have a bleak life expectancy in the first place (unless the Schizo type symptoms are drug induced and occured later in life- and even then, this can vary).

If you look at the prescribing information/pamphlet (can be found on google images or google search) for the anti-psychotic medication in question, they very well may have prescribing limits/indications based on their testing. I know that even for something like amphetamine, which is extremely hard on the kidneys and liver compared to some other types of medication, there is a dose per day limit for those with chronic kidney disease, etc.