• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

What combination of prescription drugs most improve academic performance?

pharmaintrigued

Greenlighter
I am a college student and I recently began seeing a psychiatrist for depression. She prescribed me Fluoxitine (Prozac) and later added Buprorion (Wellbutrin). I noticed minor improvement in my mood, however, I also noticed my thoughts became more focused, my writing better, and my performance on exams much improved. This improvement sparked my interest as I have taken Adderall in the past during exam season as a study aid.

I am wondering to what extent do SSRIs and NDRIs either by themselves or in combination of Adderall have on academic performance/mental abilities?

I've also read that certain medications prescribed to patients with dementia or Alzheimers such as Aricept, in conjunction with Adderall results in a significant improvement in mental abilities. Any truth to this?

Thanks

Nootropics are what you are looking for. You might experiment with piracetam for starters. They are cognitive enhancers that do not produce a high.

depression also has a pretty measurable negative effect on academic performance, what you may be seeing is not a result of performance enhancement but instead a return to homeostasis

I am a college student and I recently began seeing a psychiatrist for depression. She prescribed me Fluoxitine (Prozac) and later added Buprorion (Wellbutrin). I noticed minor improvement in my mood, however, I also noticed my thoughts became more focused, my writing better, and my performance on exams much improved. This improvement sparked my interest as I have taken Adderall in the past during exam season as a study aid.

I am wondering to what extent do SSRIs and NDRIs either by themselves or in combination of Adderall have on academic performance/mental abilities?