• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Bupe Transitioning from Loperamide to Subutex, concerns re precipitated withdrawal.

ophelia-artaud

Greenlighter
I am a 9 year heroin/ buprenorphine/ Loperamide addict, rotating between those 3 with regularity. Seeking some advice/ clarification on safely transitioning onto Subutex after approximately 1.5 years on Loperamide (96mg 2x/ day). My last dose of Loperamide was Thursday 10/17 at 5am. It's been 8 days, tomorrow will be the 9th day off Loperamide. I've been doing heroin for the last 8 days instead since it is easy to transition onto Subutex with it and I have a lot of experience doing so.
My concern is precipitated withdrawal from whatever Loperamide is still in my system after 9 days. It has a LONG half life- I read that after years of dosing insane amounts it could increase the half life to 72 hours. I've also read a case of precipitated withdrawal after one week off of Loperamide on this site. Will I be ok to wait my usual 18 hours from my last heroin dose?
If you're wondering why I'm making this transition, it's a combination of health & financial factors. I would be grateful for ANY insight you can give me, because I'm pretty scared right now. Precipitated withdrawal is downright traumatizing and I don't want to go through it again.

Been through precip 4 times...i don't have much experience with loperamide though. The best advice I can give you is to go by WITHDRAWL SYMPTOMS. Not by time.
Use the COWS( Clinical Opiate Withdrawl Sheet) to judge your symptoms. Make sure your in at least moderate withdrawal.

This is an interesting scenario.