Tips for Court?

Astrogirl

Bluelighter
Hello all. Tomorrow at 9 I have to be in court *sigh*. I'm not terribly worried since my lawyer told me there is a 90% chance of it being thrown out and striken from my record. I was arrested for disorderly conduct...long, stupid story I don't feel like typing out...

Anyway, this is my first time being arrested and to court. I've spoken to my lawyer Friday on the phone and I'm to meet with him an hour before I have to appear. He said he'd tell me at this time how to act, what to say/not to say etc.

After I hung up with him I realized I had forgotten to ask him how to dress and look.

I'm going to be wearing nice clothes, that's a given. Probably a pair of black pants and a grey sweater. Nothing tight or revealing at all.

I was planning on wearing no jewlery, nail polish, and minimal makeup. I have very long hair (waist-length) and was considering tying it back into a low ponytail or having it in a bun low at the base of my head. I have no tattoos and I'll be taking my eyebrow ring out.

If anyone has any suggestions as far as what I should/should not wear, please respond!!

Thanks very much!
~Astrogirl

P.s. I live in Connecticut in the USA.

:)

As you correctly note, dress respectfully and as conservative as possible. You want the judge to see you as his daughter, not someone he prays his daughter will never hang out with.

Let your lawyer do the talking. Do not speak to the judge unless he/she speaks to you first, and you are required to answer. If you have to speak to the judge, address them as "your honor".

Thanks to you both for replying!

I went to court this morning- I worried about my appearance for nothing! Every person there (beside the lawyers) was dressed down...jeans, sweatpants, and the like. Either way, I'm glad I dressed nicely. I was in front of the judge for a total of about 20 seconds and my lawyer did all of the talking.

My case ended up being dismissed!

Thanks again!