• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Opioids SUBOXONE?.?.? Any information would be greatly appreciated!.!.!.!

Deicide1212

Bluelighter
I have been snorting Hydromorphone, on and off, for just over six years. I can not seem to stay off of them, no matter how many times I go through withdrawals. I have never taken any kind of deterrent (Methadone, suboxone...etc...) I HAVE to stop the Hydros, one way, or another. My doctor recommended Suboxone. I am wondering what it is like, if it has helped anyone and just any first hand information, anyone might have. I started taking the Hydros due to chronic back pain, and eventually surgery. My Doctor says the suboxone, will still work as a painkiller, as well. I am skeptical. Thanks for the help, everyone.

from my experience with suboxone it was not a very effective pain reliever. but for me was very effective in getting me off hydromorphone and fentanyl.

Most people don't think suboxone is an adequate painkiller. Methadone is much more effective in that regard. That said, if your only issue is wanting to get clean from opioids, suboxone works well in that regard. But if you need something to continue to be an effective analgesic, you might need to go the methadone route.