• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Should I reveal my past to my future employers? (Drugs counsellor)

T

try honesty

- For the education & careers subforum

Hi to the lovely people at Bluelight

I love this site and come here a lot when I need help

I was just wondering, I want to become a drugs counsellor, but because of my young age (21) most employers will look at me as if "How can you be counselling people on drugs given your experience" etc. Even though I will have completed the national qualification to become one, I feel that I will be severely judged.

I was homeless when I was 17 and finished my last year of school and within two years I was a financial controller managing millions, that must count for something?

I have seen lots of friends go through all styles of drug use when I was growing up

I have extensive knowledge and personal experience with cannabis, MDMA, meth, LSD

Should I tell these things to my future employers? Should I not? What should I do?

I would probably leave out any drug use experience.
Even in the field you are going into....you are still a prospective employee.

It sounds like you have a great deal of life experience in lifting yourself out of hardship, taking responsibility for your life, and achieving many of the things people who seek help for drug problems and addictions strive for.
I congratulate you - it sounds like you've walked a very hard road in life, and found your way out of enormous difficulty.
That's really impressive - not just on a personal level, but also as an applicant/employee - you've shown ambition, strength of character, the ability to solve problems, use initiative, make things happen. Employers look for all of those things.

Now, as for the "drugs thing" - I think you've given a very good example here;
You have witnessed your friends go through phases with various forms of drugs.