• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Should I be concerned about my drug use?

Outermostline

Greenlighter
Hi everyone, this is the first thread I've started on this site and I would like to get honest opinions from people on here on how serious/dangerous my drug use patterns are.

First I would like to say I know that this post may seem silly as you probably think I should be able to judge my actions on my own...unfortunately noone in my family knows I am still using drugs, and I can't tell them or they'd be heartbroken and worried constantly, and the majority of my friends use as much or more than I do and therefore tend to have the mindset that they and I are invincible and can keep using substances at the rate we have been forever. So I don't have anyone to give me advice or tell me "Hey, maybe you should lay it off today bud, you've been spending all of your extra cash on dope lately".

So here is my story. I have been using drugs for about 8 years now, and I am in my early 20s. The first substance I ever tried to get a buzz off was alcohol at age 13. Even for my first buzz ever, it gave me a feeling that not many other drugs do, and not a very nice feeling, more of a flu-like state along with the mild euphoria and loss of motor control...to this day, I never liked alcohol enough to form a habit. Next came cigarettes shortly after my first time getting drunk, which I hated even more than alcohol. I only ever smoke stoags when I am on some other substance which is complimented by the nicotine buzz.

Now moving on to age 14, I tried weed, instantly fell in love, and continue to smoke once or twice a day almost every day, other than when I take a tolerance break for a good week or two once every couple of months. (I am not concerned with my marijuana usage at all)