• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Severe anxiety followed by depression after using cannabis

heroinbliss

Greenlighter
Please help- Severe anxiety followed by depression after using cannabis

Hello everybody, I have been using cannabis for 5 years. 3 of those years I was using daily with no problems. Just having fun with friends smoking weed. Everything was great. Well, in the last year it all started to change, drastically. Cannabis started to provoke a negative effect on me. I have a high tolerance but once this started, one small hit would send me into a state of endless negativity. I would think terrible things about myself. My mind would twist reality into something it wasn't. I am genuinely a happy person. I do have occasional stress, stemming from my college course load but I doubt that has anything to do with it. After the anxiety slows down, I would drift into a depressive state until I wasn't high anymore. I can't enjoy it anymore. I tried to use Xanax in conjunction with cannabis but it did not help. The only thing that helps is if I have had a few drinks beforehand. It is strange. Let me know yalls opinion on this. I am staying away from cannabis for a while. Just sticking with opiates ;)

Last edited:
Opiates IMO is not the solution for your anxiety. Obviously it will be for a very short term.
But I'm pretty much sure you know how this works. Welcome to bluelight and good luck! :)

They are not a solution, your right. I was not implying I use them because I'm anxious. I have been using them for some time because I find them recreationally fun :). I would say I am a responsible drug user. Thank you for the reply, though! Take care

Take breaks, rotate strains, don't smoke every day... All of these things will help to prevent the negative effects of MJ.

If you feel a way about the herb let it be positive all the time!