• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Seizure after kratom

ronthetiger

Greenlighter
I know bringing negative light to kratom is generally looked down upon; we ought to all try and minimize the negative light shone on this herb, as it is a godsend to some and a relatively benign weekend indulgence for others. However, for the sake of the scientific community and harm reduction, I feel compelled to post a short report about a seizure I had whilst on kratom.

I've been using kratom one and off for about two years; I consider myself to be incredibly experienced and have experimented with different dosages, finding my 'sweet spot' to be 7g. However, two nights ago was very different, and very very unexpected and terrifying. I didn't have a proper tablespoon to measure out my dose precisely, so I eyeballed what looked to me to be 7 grams and consumed it over the course of an hour. About 2-3 hours later, as I was laying in bed watching a movie, I (according to the witness, as I have zero recollection of anything from here on out) shot straight up, proceeded to lose consciousness, and fell straight off the bed. From here I began having a grand mal siezure. When I finally came to about a minute or so later, I was surrounded by EMT's and was put into an ambulance. All MRI, CAT scans, blood tests, and EKG scans showed nothing out of the ordinary with my brain or body. I find it extremely odd that kratom may have caused this, but it's the only other thing that I can think of which was "abnormal."