• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Stimulants Ritalin with Adderall, possible serotonin syndrome?

pablo8732

Greenlighter
I am a student and during exam periods (not throughout the year) i often use adderall or amphetamine sulphate as a study aid. ive never had any problems with it (aside from difficulty to sleep) since i first started a few years back. yesterday as normal, i had my adderall at 12, then had a little bit more around 3-4 (quite normal), then towards the end of the day, around 7-8 i thought i needed a boost and had a ritalin pill 10mg. about 20mins after taking the ritalin i didnt feel very well, i felt lethargic rather than energetic and a bit restless, i couldnt be bothered studying. it was almost like that tiredness feeling on the comedown of ritalin. i gave up with studies and just tried to relax then, didnt feel quite normal till around 1 or 2. when i had some weed and a zopiclone to sleep.

Ithis was quite a shock, as i had tried this combo in the same way a few times prior (including the day before this incident) with no issues, and it gave me an amazing boost, great focus. the previous times i had done this combo i had used more Ritalin too. so i was surprised of the adverse reaction. i usually have a very high tolerance and 10mg of ritalin on its own wont affect me much.

Googling the topic for a bit led me to some discussions that it might be serotonin syndrome. but a lot of the discussions focused on the use of amphetamines with SSRIs or antidepressants, rather than ritalin.

Can anyone shed some light on this and see if this would be likely, and what can be done about it? Im starting my exams from next week so would ideally like to continue the adderall, although without the ritalin.