Recovery from MDMA induced anxiety

Harry95

Greenlighter
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting on here. I have been combing the site for about three weeks now and it has been really helpful in my recovery process. Just wanted to share my story and finally engage on a personal level with this great community.

A bit of background: I am 20 years old. Have never been a heavy drug user. Have rarely smoked weed in the past. Did cocaine only a few times. No history of mental disorders or depression in my family. I have always been a naturally anxious person but nothing that I would consider outside the realm of "normal".

The story: About 5 weeks ago I took my first dose of MDMA. The high was great and I enjoyed myself. The next weekend I took another cap. I can't be certain what I took and I'm not sure of the dose. Very irresponsible, I know. 5 days after the last dose I experienced a major panic attack. I had been having mild bouts of anxiety the days leading up to this. As the week continued I started suffering from some mild depersonalization. I felt fatigued all the time and things were just generally "off". I explained what was happening to my family and they were very supportive and empathetic. The anxiety and depersonalization came in waves through the next two weeks. However, it was not constant and I did have periods of comfort and normalcy. My memory and verbal skills were definitely effected but I chalked this up to the anxiety. I consulted my family doctor and he prescribed Ativan to calm my nerves. I decided not to take it because I wanted to heal myself as naturally as possible.

It has now been 4 weeks since my last dose and many of the symptoms have lessened in severity. The ones that persist are the following:

- feeling of uneasiness
- occasional depression
- occasional DP (not too severe though)
- fatigue and lightheadedness
- mild brain fog and visual snow (not always there)