• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Question about hospital policies, urgent please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Notnemore1985

Greenlighter
I'm going to reword my question from earlier, so as not to violate guidelines. I'll make it short and sweet.

I work in the medical field and am an opiate addict. If I were to need to go to the ER and had to disclose my opiate use for the sake of my health would this disclosure be protected under HIPPA? Or would the information be passed along to my bosses, possibly ending my career.
All of the hospitals in my area and network are branches of the hospital I work at so I do not have the option of going to a hospital or even a doctor that is not associated with my employer.
Any knowledge on this subject would be greatly appreciated as I think I may need to make an ER trip.
And you would think I know the answer to this quesyon better than anyone, but I do not. It's not something I've ever been instructed on or heard about in my years at the hospital.
I know patient records are extremely confidential and that looking at the chart of ANYONE you are not directly taking care of can be cause for immediate termination. However I don't know if an exception would be made if it were discovered that an employee were using. Especially one with access to medication every day. TIA

Yes its protected but people see and talk. You would open yourself up to scrutiny in my opinion but you need to decide whats best for your health.

Tbh, Im not 100% comfortable leaving this thread open still but will give the benefit of the doubt.