View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Psychedelics and serotonin

Malafight82

Greenlighter
I'm relatively new to using various substances and wanted to get some insight on how it works from chemical point of view. I know that LSD binds to serotonin in simillar manner as MDMA does, but I've never heard people having a comedown after LSD like they do after extasy. Also, Ive never heard about anything simillar to 3 months rule in case of psychedelics unlike taking a break with MDMA. My question comes down to, should I take into consideration that I've rolled on M in the near past when wanting to take LSD and vice versa?

Psychedelics don't release serotonin like mdma does. Psychedelics don't do physical damage to the brain and will never have come downs like mdma. LSD tolerance lasts about a week maybe two weeks depending on the person. But you can take LSD weekly fine and be okay.

MDMA is significantly more taxing on your serotonin system because it causes excessive forced release of serotonin (and dopamine and norepinephrine). LSD doesn't release serotonin, but it binds to serotonin receptors, preventing the existing serotonin from being taken back up and causing it to slowly accumulate in the brain. Both drugs cause an eventual increase in serotonin levels, but MDMA to a much larger degree, hence why it has a larger comedown/hangover, and also why there is the "3 month rule" for it but not for LSD, AND also why it becomes neurotoxic at higher/longer term doses but LSD does not.

In my experience, after I have taken excessively large doses of LSD over the course of 2 or 3 days, I have absolutely felt a comedown, but it still didn't compare to that of MDMA.