Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Psychedelics and Philosophy

MysticMonist

Greenlighter
Hello!
I finished reading Huxley’s Doors of Perception on his experience with mescaline. I also really enjoyed some of descriptions of drug trips and related insights here on the forum.
As a mystic, I’ve been practicing meditation and self-hypnosis for several years (drug free). I’ve been really impressed with the similarities of my experience and that of famous mystics with descriptions of psychedelic use. My experiences lack the visual splendor or visceral nature but the insights gained are very simmilar.
I think this has profound implications for understanding of how we gain spiritual insight and how transcendent Reality interacts with us. Basically that spiritual insight is independent of belief. An atheist can take a pill and have a spiritual experience. This suggests that the Divine presence and Love is present to everyone and at every place and it only our modes of thought and perception that obscure it.

Any one interested in further discussion on this or any particular experiences that might have had?

Thanks
-MM

I'm a strong atheist and I have had what some might call spiritual experiences on mushrooms. The first time I meditated was on shrooms, it was unintentional and it brought on a strong feeling of unity with my body and the entire universe.

We all have the capability to have these intense experiences inside us, I don't believe these insights come from an outside source. Some might call it God, universal energy, or what have you. IMO all these revelations are just our brains connecting dots that have never been connected before.