• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Kratom Precipitated withdrawal with kratom and buprenorphine - poll

Have you ever experienced precipitated withdrawal from buprenorphine while addicted to kratom?

• Yes, and I was still feeling the kratom when I took it

Votes: 1 3.6%
  • Yes, and I was not in full withdrawal yet when I took it (but not high either)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, and I was still feeling the kratom when I took it

Votes: 9 32.1%
  • No, and I was not in full withdrawal yet when I took it (but not high either)

Votes: 8 28.6%
  • I have no experience with taking buprenorphine while addicted to kratom

Votes: 10 35.7%

• Total voters
Pretty sure you're blocked, unfortunately. I've been on 2mg of suboxone daily for a little while and even that totally blocks kratom for me

Well it all depends on how much of a partial agonist mitragynine is in comparison to buprenorphine. Weird enough that Kratom is able to give you effects not unlike any other opioid when not having too much tolerance while bupe was odd for me, 2mg w/o tolerance made me kinda mod but without any euphoria and 4mg daily were like nothing at all.

Kratom even contains at least one alkaloid which is an antagonist at mu but it must have weaker affinity than mitragynine then so it remains inactive. Personally I wouldn't risk it to take a full dose of bupe while addicted to Kratom, as bupe will displace mitragynine with its very strong affinity but its entirely possible that there would be no precipitated withdrawal. At least it will be much weaker than while on a full agonist.