• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Pharmacist on Buprenorphine Program - a Dilemma

Status
Not open for further replies.

shroompharmer

Greenlighter
I just wanted to share my situation and see if anyone else is in a similar position, or could give some advice. I was a registered pharmacist in NSW, Australia up until about 3 years ago. I developed an opioid habit and soon after I voluntarily left the profession to seek treatment, letting my professional registration lapse in the process - I knew that what I was doing was not sustainable and I could potentially get into a lot of trouble, not to mention possibly OD in the process- I had FAR too much access to whatever opioid I desired. I struggled for a long time to get a handle on my opioid use until recently, when I decided to finally to try to get onto Bupe. I have been on Bupe maintenance for a while now, and it has been very helpful in keeping me on the straight and narrow.