• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Opiate detox confusion

healthyharold101

Greenlighter
hey there, been using this website for many years to look up info and to get advice but this is my first time posting. Was wondering if anyone could shed some light on a friend of mines current situation.

As of 4 days ago me and a friend left our home country and are currently overseas backpacking. While back home he had quite a heroin habit (0.5-1g a day) of relatively high purity stuff. With it brought typical withdrawals and although he was smoking, not injecting, which from what I understand carries less intense withdrawals, it was still hell on earth. He took some suboxone before jumping on the plane so the withdrawals wouldnt hit whilst flying, but started to feel sick when arriving at our destination. Not wanting to experience the detox until we were settled in to where we were staying, he went to a chemist and bought a lot of loperamide to ease w/d, and was taking 30mgs-40mgs roughly every 20 or so hours to keep himself from getting completely sick (he is aware of the risks involved with taking high doses of loperamide). This went on for about 2 days, and then decided he was ready to detox. It has been about 50 hours since his last dose of an opiate and despite slight leg cramps and being slightly moody there have been no other withdrawal symptoms, which is absolutely not at all what he expected, as he understands the half life of loperamide is roughly 12 hours. Has this ever happened to anyone? Is the worst still yet to come or did he by some miracle somehow skip the withdrawal stage, how could that be possible if so?

Last edited: