• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Treatment Need help coming off subutex

Blondieneedsmore

Greenlighter
Hey guys! I've been coming to bluelight for 10 years for advice and just made an account for the first time. I need some help with coming off of subutex. I've been on it for 2 years and it's just time. I stopped taking them completely yesterday after weaning for 6 months. I've heard of people using shorter acting opiates (such as gear) to make the final jump off a little easier. Any input would be greatly appreciated! ❤

Last edited:
Hi Blondi -

Can you tell us more about your situation - why you are quitting, what access to comfort meds you have, if you have ever done this before, your current doseage, etc?

Without knowing more I would not recommend switching to a short acting opiate. Subs are fairly easy to taper with, provided you can do that.

Best of luck.

- VE

Also, I’m hoping a mod might come along and move you to health and recovery where you will get more responses.

I'd pick coming off Bupe over the gear anyday.

You are aware that if you use & have any trace of bupe in your system you will have a horrific withdrawl come upon you in a flash right?

I jumped at 4mg. it wasn't horrible. Personally I wouldn't jump back to Ron or anything. It all depends on your dose.

Hi Blondi -

Can you tell us more about your situation - why you are quitting, what access to comfort meds you have, if you have ever done this before, your current doseage, etc?

Without knowing more I would not recommend switching to a short acting opiate. Subs are fairly easy to taper with, provided you can do that.

Best of luck.

- VE

Also, I’m hoping a mod might come along and move you to health and recovery where you will get more responses.
Hi Blondi -

Best of luck.

- VE