• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Opioids Methadone or suboxone? Thst is the question!!!!

Deicide1212

Bluelighter
I am currently trying to decide if I should go on methadone, or Suboxone. I have been snorting Hydromorphome, on and off, for about 6 years. I started taking them due to chronic back pain, which led to surgery. I still suffer from back pain. It is time to get off of them for good, as they are doing a number on me, mentally and physically. I would be grateful for any help, anyone can give me, regarding this decision. Thanks. I look forward to hearing from you.

Why the heck go on a substitute drug at all. Take a painkiller for your back pain that won't cause physical dependence.
Why go off hydromorphone only to switch to another opiate that will have the same dependency issues and which you'll then be stuck on instead. It's never made sense to me.

suboxone is the obvious choice ….if you have a stupid large habit and can’t survive the transitional period for the suboxone to work properly then methadon might be right for you…but I would say there is a third option and that’s possibly kratom, which may or may not work your you as a way to soften the wd

Why the heck go on a substitute drug at all. Take a painkiller for your back pain that won't cause physical dependence.
Why go off hydromorphone only to switch to another opiate that will have the same dependency issues and which you'll then be stuck on instead. It's never made sense to me.