• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Pharmacology Kappa opioid agonist hallucinogens that are not salvinorin derivatives

This thread contains discussion about a Pharmacology-related topic

LucidSDreamr

Bluelighter
Are there compounds that are non salvinorin analogues that are kappa opioid agonists that are hallucinogenic?

Is the psychedelic effect of salvia solely kappa agonism caused?

Are there compounds that are non salvinorin analogues that are kappa opioid agonists that are hallucinogenic?

Yes there are. I’m no expert in chemistry, but I think some members of the benzomorphan class of synthetic opioids like cyclazocine and pentazocine are very potent kappa agonists. For a short time after their discovery, it was thought they were a breakthrough non-addictive opioid for pain treatment. however, their strong action at the kappa Opioid receptor made them powerful hallucinogens with extremely dysphoric and paranoid components. there are more selective kappa Opioid agonists, most have research codenames so I can’t remember them off by heart and as I am blind, it’s hard for me to copy them. However, just go to the Wikipedia article on kappa opioid receptor and there should be a long list of ligands there. I would personally warn against kappa agonists, The Kappa receptor is designed to oppose reward and induce aversion in the brain. I assume you’re looking for such drugs as a synthetic, perhaps longer lasting alternative to salvia? whilst I’ll never recommend salvia to anyone and never try it myself, if you like its effects then stick to it. at least SalvinorinA is very short acting so less chance of suffering if your trip screws up.

Is the psychedelic effect of salvia solely kappa agonism caused?

Yes, all scientific evidence so far has overwhelmingly, if not exclusively pointed to Kappa opioid agonism as being solely responsible for the psychoactive/Behavioural effects of SalvinorinA