• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

I obtained a degree in something I hate. Lost all ambition. Will it ever come back?

Stimlover22

Bluelighter
I grew up in a household with a Deaf parent. Needless to say, I have been fluent in ASL (American Sign Language) since I was a child. I decided to use this to my advantage, so after high school I majored in Sign Language Interpretation and and pretty much excelled and I graduated with an Associate's degree, and began working as an interpreter for the Deaf and HoH.
I absolutely hated it, and I feel like I wasted my time getting my degree. I desperately want to find my calling, but am lacking the ambition to find something else to shoot for, but after my meth addiction (been clean 3 years) I've lost my driving force in life and it's yet to come back. Will it ever come back? I'm tired of just existing in life.

I'm sorry to hear that but it seems like you've done quite well for yourself! You've accomplished a lot!

Just try something else, something new, and find another passion.

Try something new! I'm only in my thirties and I've already gone through three distinct career paths (with a bit of overlap). It's the way of the world in the modern age - the idea of doing one thing at one job for the rest of your life is dead.

Even if you study something completely different or obtain a job in a completely different field, the fact that you are fluent to interpreter level in another language will be a major asset to you.

You'll definitely find something else OP. I am currently in that transition of wanting to obtain another degree. I'm in my early 30's and I have plans of taking courses next year to obtain that. It might take longer to achieve that goal but I'm in no hurry at all.

A lot of people tend to graduate with degrees, but then move onto something entirely different.