• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

How deep are the veins in your arms?

It varies person to person and vein to vein. If you are using an insulin syringe you will hit most visible veins in your inside elbow if you position the needle at 45 degrees. I find I get the entire length of the needle inside the vein at that angle (i.e. the end of the syringe is touching my skin at the entry point). There is a sticky guide to injecting somewhere I think. BTW if you are new to injecting my advice is enjoy the experience for curiosity’s sake but then quit and never do it again.

Im new to injecting and would like to know how deep the "injectable" veins are so I can hit them more accurately

You should stick with superficial veins, the ones that are close to the surface. Deep veins run next to bone or close to them, but run next to the major arteries and nerve bundle branch and are incredibly dangerous or impossible trying to hit (with the slight exception of the deep femoral vein people use, there is a technique that is possible to find the pulse of the artery to try to avoid hitting it at least, but it is still incredibly dangerous and doesn't at all help for infection and potential collapse of the major draining vessel of the extremity - ALL veins drain into the femoral, collapse it and you got major problems - not to mention throwing clots like DVT and pulmonary emboli) The more body fat you have, the more the superficial veins will be below the surface of the skin - so that is variable from person to person - but a person with low body fat, most can be see running along the skin.