• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Highly worried about my cognition, what could this be?

imworried

Greenlighter
Hello everybody!

I'm really freaked out right now. I worry that something's wrong.

I hope you can give me some advice.

My background is this:

I'm 34yo.
Long-time sufferer from depression and general anxiety. Been on various antidepressants since 2012, never found anything which
really seemed to make any noticable difference at all! I tried ADs from all classes except MAOI.
SSRI,SNRI,Wellbutrin,Remeron don't work. TCA's had too many side effects. I also tried Memantine for a while but also didnt notice a difference.

I feel very insecure about myself and my self-esteem is also pretty low (due to my life situation).
For example when I already feel bad about myself in the first place and get thoughts like I'm a loser then these thoughts are reinforced
and directly come up in situations where I feel clumsy. For example when I talk to somebody and then notice that I sound dumb again and that
I'm starting to stutter and not finish a sentence properly then I feel more insecure and dumber. It's like a vicious-circle.

Some of these issues could be explained by depression and simply saying that I'm insecure but I'm worried that I cannot simply blame all my symptoms
on this.

In 2014 I had myself tested for ADD cause I read a book about ADD and found various parallels.
In 2014 I had the ADD test (I had to do concentration tests on a computer and also a memory test where I was read items from different
lists and then had to repeat them in the right order).
Basically the results said that my performance was not according to my age, which already back then sounded a bit scary to me.

The doc then said that I probably have ADD. I have been on ritalin, vyvanse, dl-amphetamine. But the stimulants don't really make a noticable difference either.
The issues which I struggle with (mostly executive functions) are not helped by the stimulants.