Hopeless Help - Meth and the future

Dcole461

Bluelighter
Hello all,

I am 13 months sober from meth. I am currently trying to figure out my future but I don't really know what to do. I'm 31 now, I have a degree but it's not what I want to do, I don't work in the field anyway. I'm thinking of going back to school for biochem and potentially med school (what I originally wanted to do).

The problem is, I think I have some lasting effects from my meth usage. My heart's fine (according to a few different doctors) but I have noticeable memory problems. I know that meth induced dementia is a thing and I still remember most things. But I have problems day to day, like I put vegetables next to the oil instead of the fridge when I made a stir fry or I won't remember something right after someone told me.

Has anyone else experienced this? Does it get better? Or worse? I don't really mind the short term problems, I figure it's the price of my bad choices (and I can take steps to manage that). But I don't want to start school again and not be able to finish because I can't remember what I learned.

Feel free to ask me any questions if it helps you answer. This situation is making me feel very depressed. I feel like I'm wasting my life in my current job (now that I'm clean anyway), and I've always been able to do well in school, but I'm afraid that my addiction has limited my future.

It will get better. Hang tough.
Don’t let it hold you back.
Get your ass to Med school. The world needs you!
Be Well
❤️

1556D73F-23F9-4ABE-9338-87D5928068A0.jpeg