Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

[HELP] Ketamine use with diabetes and gout

Lady Ice

Bluelighter
Hey guys,

I have no knowledge whatsoever about psychedelics and dissoc. Since it’s not my poison; So I never bothered reading much into it.

Though I have a friend who is currently taking K + benzo (specifically nimetazepam) + alcohol.

Looking for advice/insights Specifically on Harm reduction & Dangerous drug combos for K (excluding alcohol cause thanks to blue light, I’ve made it a point to tell ppl drugs + alcohol = NO )

I’d really appreciate it. Please. Even links. Just point me in the right direction.

nimetazepam
This is a particularly sedating benzo at that. If your friend wants to use K safely, adding in alcohol or nimetazepam are both bad ideas.

I don't know what effects ketamine has in regards to diabetes. If they have impaired kidney function then ketamine itself should also be avoided.

All three can safely be used in combo (hypothetically); however, from a purely harm reduction perspective, it's a very dangerous combo that could lead to respiratory depression or choking on one's own vomit.

Does your friend have Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes? I didn't know about this previously but did a quick google DuckDuckGo for you :sneaky: (eh no honestly I used Google, but you shouldn't)...

There does seem to be an increased risk of hyperglycemia and ketoacidosis, especially in Type 2 diabetics, which can be mitigated supposedly by pretreatment with insulin - but is still good to be aware of.

Diabetes alters the blood glucose response to ketamine in streptozotocin-diabetic rats
However, ketamine dose dependently elevated glucose in diabetic rats from 80 mg/kg to 120 mg/kg at 1 hour after injection. ... Ketamine did not induce acute hyperglycemia any more after diabetic rats pretreated with insulin.

Diabetic Ketoacidosis: the Usual Villain or a Scapegoat?